Happy Shanini

Today, April 24, 2016, is Palm Sunday for the Antiochian Orthodox. In Arabic we say, “Shanini Embarki,” Happy Palm Sunday.

Many remember Palm Sunday at my parents’ home in Encino. My mother would put out quite a spread of food. She had games and face painters for the children. A famous Easter Egg hunt. A tent with beautifully decorated tables. There were literally hundreds of people there.

Every year two or three of my sisters and I were “greeters” at the front door. This one particular “Shanini” was years ago. I opened the outside gate for a family of five. As they were approaching the front door I said, “Happy Thanksgiving!” Well, two of my sisters that were “greeting” with me started laughing. I could barely contain myself! I wanted to be respectful to the guests and quickly blurted out, “I am so sorry. Happy Palm Springs!” By then, we couldn’t breathe we were laughing so hard!

I did manage to pull it together enough to wish them, “Happy Palm Sunday,” as they entered our home.

Happy Shanini everyone!

Much Love,

Caren

Leave a comment